PDA

View Full Version : HID Conversion Kit

tysamigo
03/18/2007, 08:47 PM
I'm just learning about HID Kits and never knew much (and still don't) about them. I am going to get a few things from Tonemonday and I saw a HID kit for about $500. When I looked online I found (http://search.ebay.com/H4-35W-12V-HID_W0QQcatrefZC6QQfnuZ1QQfromZR10QQfsooZ1QQfsopZ3 QQftrtZ1QQftrvZ1QQmppfqyZBiXenonQ20H4Q2035WQ2012VQ 20HIDQQsacatZQ2d1QQsaprchiZQQsaprcloZQQssPageNameZ RC0021QQxpufuZx)

where the price is much less. Does anyone know the difference or is there any difference in quality?

If it were a few dollars difference I wouldn't even ask but I've seen a few for $125 or so which is a huge difference and just wanted to know why. Again I'm learning so any input would be appreciated on HIDs.

Thanks

Triathlete
03/18/2007, 09:01 PM
I'm sure those who have them will chime in. You pretty much get what you pay for. Tone has done quite a bit of experimenting to find what works the best on the VX for the price. There are several posts here about it if you use the search. But bad HIDs are bad. They will put out a lot of glare and piss off a lot of oncoming traffic!

kobie
03/18/2007, 10:45 PM
With the HIDS, are there still issues with on coming traffic if the lights are aimed correctly? I am asking because I honestly don't know.

Ldub
03/19/2007, 07:21 AM
What Triathlete means by BAD is, cheap/poorly designed HID kits are bad...the good stuff, like what Tone is currently selling, are great & when properly aimed, there are no issues with oncoming traffic.
I've met countless police vehicles at night & have never been "flashed" (hi beams) or pulled over.

Kenny
03/19/2007, 11:07 AM
What Triathlete means by BAD is, cheap/poorly designed HID kits are bad...the good stuff, like what Tone is currently selling, are great & when properly aimed, there are no issues with oncoming traffic.
I've met countless police vehicles at night & have never been "flashed" (hi beams) or pulled over.

tysamigo,