PDA

View Full Version : multiple problems starting & driving

chrispin
05/19/2007, 09:19 AM
I'm a non mechanic with multiple problems:
When starting my 2001 vehicross with aprox. 57,000 miles, I have to turn the key quickly several times then hold the key in for about 8 seconds to start. My other problem is that it will die while I'm driving. Took it to a shop and they replaced the crank sensor, but that did not work. I don't want to fork over thousands of dollars replacing parts. I need to figure out what the problem is. The last shop said it was not the fuel pressure regualtor. I thought that could be the problem. 2 shops $1200.00 no solution. Can anyone help?

etlsport
05/19/2007, 09:42 AM
start simple.. fuel pressure reg, fuel pump and fuel filter are all fairly cheap fixes that could cause slow starts and stalling, maybe intake manifold gasket too

Dino
05/19/2007, 12:32 PM
Also check your ignition switch!! THAT would be my first check as a mechanic. What you described: "I have to turn the key quickly several times then hold the key in for about 8 seconds to start." Sounds like a faulty electrical connection in the switch, hence the "die while I'm driving" scenario.

Think about your service for a moment.They replaced the crank sensor, and it did not help, which means that your crank angle sensor was OK and they MIS-DIAGNOSED IT! In fact, I'd say they just took a shot in the dark just to be able to bill out a job. Why else would you see NO improvement??

To qualify all this info I'm laying on you here, I should mention that it is coming from a lot of experience over the years working in various shops as a mechanic. I'm a good one. I'm honest and I use a more logical approach to diagnosis.

Hope this helps... good luck. :)

chrispin
05/21/2007, 04:14 PM
Thanks
I'll let you know what happens

rowhard
05/21/2007, 05:07 PM
Hey bandit, having fun yet??