PDA

View Full Version : Transmission - Diff - Change

JHarris1385
06/05/2007, 12:42 PM
I am going to tackle a transmission and differentails fluid change this weekend. I want to be properly prepared for this is my first time. So I would like to start a check list on here and ask if you all would fill it out for me. I dont know what all is needed and what is the best for this.

Transmission change - what is needed?

Diff change - what is needed?

Any Tools?

Triathlete
06/05/2007, 12:46 PM
There is actually a very good write up on this subject somewhere here on the board...should be able to find it with the search!

Triathlete
06/05/2007, 12:50 PM
Less than a minute and here you go...Joe Blacks how to (http://www.antiquecaterpillar.org/vx/Technical/4L30E_01.asp) ...search is your friend! Don't fear it! ;Dy;

JHarris1385
06/05/2007, 01:00 PM
Can you get the filter and gasket at an AutoZONE?

What about the diffs? Did not see a write up on that.

nfpgasmask
06/05/2007, 01:14 PM
Yes, I got mine at AutoZone for $30-$40. The filter should come with the gasket.

Bart

Can you get the filter and gasket at an AutoZONE?

What about the diffs? Did not see a write up on that.

Triathlete
06/05/2007, 01:17 PM
THIS (http://www.vehicross.info/forums/showthread.php?t=2174) has some good info on the diffs including pics of the drain and fill holes.

etlsport
06/05/2007, 01:48 PM
the diffs are easy.. heres some quick tips though...

remove the fill plug first.. youll be pretty PO'd if you drain your diff then cant fill it

check your manual for capacities and oil weights

you will need two drain pans.. i dont think you can fit both differentials and the transmission all in one pan

when you start draining the front, you may need a long screwedriver or coathanger to poke some sludge out of the way since the drain hole is pretty small

dont try to tube the fluid in, if you get mobil1 you can just squeeze it from the bottle straight into the fill hole

JHarris1385
06/05/2007, 01:57 PM