PDA

View Full Version : Stupid Question: Taking the door apart?

Girlybot
07/16/2008, 09:48 AM
Hi, Everyone! I'm a VX owner for 5+ years and love my baby... he's like my boyfriend and my best friend all in one. When he dies, I'll die. But that's not what I'm posting for.

I have read numerous threads about fixing the window, and by god, I'm ready. I've spent the last two years squirting lube into the rubber sliding area and the glass has come loose yet again, pitching forward.

I have tools on standby and I just need to know how to take the door panel apart so I can get a good look at the mechanism. Unfortunately my ex-husband (may he rot!) fixed the window last time by more or less supergluing the glass to the mechanism, and I think it's time for the metal replacement that everyone here has enthusiastically recommended.

However, I'm a little tiny girl (barely five feet) and I have no knowledge of how he got the door apart in the first place. I would love to try and order the part and fix this on my own without giving the guys at the shop down the street $300 to fix it and know that the fix won't stick.

Any suggestions on how to help me do this? Or should I just order the metal kit, take it to the shop down the street and have them do the labor?

thanks in advance for any suggestions! I'm by White Rock Lake in Dallas if there are any other VX diehards nearby... When I found this forum I was so excited. VX lovers are hard to come by because there are so few of us!

LittleBeast
07/16/2008, 10:14 AM
To get door apart:

http://www.vehicross.info/modules.php?name=Content&file=viewarticle&op=newarticle&id=22

To buy metal tab fix:

http://www.vehicross.info/forums/showthread.php?t=11541
http://www.streetboutiquecustoms.com/vx.htm

Scott Harness
07/16/2008, 10:16 AM
Morning, I live by White Rock Lake.We are having a meeting Saturday 2pm at The Blue Goose on Lower Greenville. Join us. The window fix is easy. Do a search on "window fix" Take care

Scott Harness