PDA

View Full Version : What A Kick In The Pants!!!!!

JAMAS
05/18/2009, 05:14 PM
Windows were done!!!! Done I say!!

They were working beautifully, I was soooo happy.

until evil "Captain Should-Have-Researched-More" reared his ugly head.

MY GLUE FAILED!! Windows went up and down several, several times. I was positive it was good before I moved on. Then I made art work out of the moisture barrier. New plastic, duct tape around all holes to prevent tearing, sealant all around the edges. It was perfect.

So now that, that has been said and I am an expert at window fixing...

What is the strongest glue that I can get to hold this stupid window to the SBC bracket?

VX KAT
05/18/2009, 05:29 PM
Tim Parker at SBC used "Liquid Nails". See pic.

JAMAS
05/18/2009, 05:31 PM
So did I.

However, Liquid Nails makes several flavors and apparently I picked the wrong one. Does the picture have any indication of what flavor it is?

VX KAT
05/18/2009, 05:46 PM
Maybe you can go by the color of the tube here....http://www.vehicross.info/gallery/data/515/DSCN0819.jpg

newthings
05/18/2009, 06:03 PM
How about windshield mirror glue?
Roy

TheGanzman
05/18/2009, 06:12 PM
I'd use "Marine Grade"...

rowhard
05/18/2009, 06:19 PM
how much time did you give it to cure?

Riff Raff
05/18/2009, 08:33 PM

Hmmm, ROWHARD-- good observation. Any glue takes longer to cure in a air-restricted space like within a confined door cavity. Time to ponder about "curring time". "AIM HIGH!!!"

JAMAS
05/19/2009, 04:40 AM

The package called for 24 hours cure time. I gave it 36 hours.

What about a hard epoxy? Is there any reason the glue shouldn't be rock hard when it dries?

Like THIS (http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?action=productDetail&productId=40308-133-01-35210&lpage=none) one?....

tom4bren
05/19/2009, 07:41 AM
Cure hard (epoxy) ... cure soft (RTV) ain't what's critical. You need something that sticks to glass.

I haven't done the repair yet but plan on using a high grade of black RTV.

JAMAS