PDA

View Full Version : Amp questions

DeafVX
08/17/2003, 07:21 AM
I just got a Pioneer Premier 12" Sub (sealed enclosure) and handles 500 watts RMS and 1000 peak. What amp should I get to power this. What should I look for...an amp that can handle 300RMS, 400, 500? I am new at this so any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

DeafVX
08/17/2003, 07:22 AM
I forgot to mention thaty this sub has dual voice coils (not sure what it is or if it makes a difference.

Hotsauce
08/17/2003, 07:48 AM
You have a 4 ohm DVC sub. With the coils wired in parallel you will need an amp that is stable into 2 ohms.

I'm running a single JL 10W6v2 D4, very similar load to yours. I had an Earthquake PH-D2 for 3 years, great amp, caught fire recently.

I replaced it with a Butler Tubedriver 1250(VERY rare tube monoblock) Best car amp ever used. I ran too warm in the confined location i am using, and I removed it.

3 weeks ago I replaced it with the new JL 1000/1 class D mono amp. Not as sweet as the tube amp of course, but it has a bit more speed, and clamp on the bass. This amp barely gets warm, even at painful volume. It also have a nice built in bass eq.

There is no such thing as too much amp. Even at low volumes the bigger amp will sound better, and distort less.

John C.

DeafVX
08/17/2003, 07:59 AM
Thanks for the help John. I know you get what you pay for but soemtimes you get a good deal. The sub and enclosure cost me 130 bucks already installed in the enclosure and b/c it is a pioneer premier it has a 2 year warranty so I made out like a bandit. As far as the amp is concerned...what do you think of this one:
http://www.pricegrabber.com/search_getprod.php/masterid=704331/ut=acca7122d5ff687e

(Sony XM-D1000P5 = approx 210 bucks)
And any tips on where to put the amp in the VX (I know there are plenty of other threads that explain where to put it, but any new ideas or places I SHOULD NOT put it. Thanks

DeafVX
08/17/2003, 08:00 AM