PDA

View Full Version : mileage problem

FlyingV77
07/31/2010, 08:24 PM
i did a serarch, and couldnt find an answer. sorry if i missed it. i was geting around 19 mpg everyday driving, 21 on road trips. i just changed wheels and tyres and i knew it would afect my mpg, but not this much. (32" cooper descovery stt) i just calculated my new gas mileage. 10.59 mpg. 50% decrease! is this all due to the new tyres and the sligte lift that was required to fit acomodate them. or is there something else wrong? my driving habbats have not changed, and im a conservitve driver.

Ldub
07/31/2010, 08:27 PM
i did a serarch, and couldnt find an answer. sorry if i missed it. i was geting around 19 mpg everyday driving, 21 on road trips. i just changed wheels and tyres and i knew it would afect my mpg, but not this much. (32" cooper descovery stt) i just calculated my new gas mileage. 10.59 mpg. 50% decrease! is this all due to the new tyres and the sligte lift that was required to fit acomodate them. or is there something else wrong?

Have you compensated the mileage shown on the odo, to reflect the new tire diameter?...:naughty:

Input your stock size & new size here (http://www.1010tires.com/tiresizecalculator.asp), calculate the difference in %, then take your odo reading x that % value, add that many miles to your orig odo reading, THEN divide by gallons used.

FlyingV77
07/31/2010, 08:35 PM
i did think about that but how do i figure that out? is there a formula?

Ldub
07/31/2010, 08:37 PM
wow dub that was quick! but i bet you hear that all the time ;) i did think about that but how do i figure that out? is there a formula?

Insult me, then ask for more help???

Good idea...:yesgray:

Re-read my original answer...it's all in there.

FlyingV77
07/31/2010, 08:59 PM