PDA

View Full Version : overheated again

zadam123
09/26/2010, 07:41 AM
some of you may have read my old post on my overerheating porblem if not here is a summery.

my car overheated and started leaking antifreeze so i brought it to the mechanic and he did a pressure test and it was leaking from the thermostat housing. he fixed it and put a new thermostat in. then it overheated again but there was no leaks this time. he said it was my clutch fan (my fan was spinning normal to me but im not a mechanic ) so he replaced it with a aftermarked on which does spin much faster and when you hit the gas it sound like a semi truck now. I though my probmems were done but here is the tricky part. it only overheats now on long drives (over 40 minutes) and only when the weather is above 85.

Yesterday i dorve to my friends house it was around 85 in ny i keeept an eye on the temp guage and after around 40 minutes of driving arond 65mph in no traffic and no ac on it started going up , i turned on the heat to help but didnt help it ran up to the top line. i pulled over and let it cool down for 15 minutes and continued my drive and after another 15-20 mnutes of driving it started getting hot again. . on lmy night drive home it was much cooler out like 70 deg. i made it home 1hr and 10 minutes without it getting hot.

The mechanic is saying it may be the water pump. is it possible? I hate playing these guessing games they already cost me over 600. could it be a bad thermostat he gave me? could it be the radiator?

Y33TREKker
09/26/2010, 07:47 AM
What is your current antifreeze-water ratio? It can easily be checked with one of those little floating ball testing tubes (the more balls that float = the better the protection in both hot and cold weather).

That may be off-base since the overheating has happened both before and after the service work, but it's something simple that can be checked and changed if it's the cause.

Marlin
09/26/2010, 08:48 AM