PDA

View Full Version : Code P0401 won't go away

jeff_54
10/22/2010, 02:21 PM
The P0401 code on my 99 VX shows to be "EGR Flow Insufficient". Research points to the EGR valve. I took it off and cleaned it real good and re-installed with a new gasket. The code came back. A new one costs $160 so I'm reluctant to buy one unless I'm sure thats the problem. Anyone else run across this?

jeff_54
10/22/2010, 03:44 PM
Man - that worked!! You rock!

hxdiaz
01/14/2012, 09:57 AM
This quick and easy job worked for me too. My check engine light went off soon after and has not returned. I used CRC throttle-body and air intake cleaner. I cleaned the throttle-body while I was at it.

I bought a new EGR valve when I learned what the code P0401 was, from Amazon. Easy to install. I hadn't seen this thread at the time -- maybe I didn't need a new EGR valve after all, just a good cleaning.

jeeperkate
01/14/2012, 05:07 PM
I am just learning about VXs, but I read a lot about these EGR valves. Can someone on here educate me as to what it looks like and its location in the engine compartment? If you have any pictures of this process of cleaning it, please post those too.

I did a little research on youtube, but nothing is specific enough to the VXs. It seems location on the engine is different for every vehicle.

Thanks for teaching :-) Hopefully one day I will put this new found knowledge to work!

Ldub
01/14/2012, 05:30 PM
I am just learning about VXs, but I read a lot about these EGR valves. Can someone on here educate me as to what it looks like and its location in the engine compartment? If you have any pictures of this process of cleaning it, please post those too.

I did a little research on youtube, but nothing is specific enough to the VXs. It seems location on the engine is different for every vehicle.

Thanks for teaching :-) Hopefully one day I will put this new found knowledge to work!

Here ya go Kate...

http://www.vehicross.info/gallery/data/500/medium/My_VX_0011.jpg