PDA

View Full Version : New Owner - ?'s about CV joint, TOD, etc.

RedBlur
12/16/2010, 08:05 PM
Hi all -

I just picked up my VX this past weekend and I am loving it. I own a Honda s2000 and a Lexus sc300 and this ranks right up there in the fun to drive category. I don't even mind the fact that I am on pace for about 10 mpg out of this last tank (I have been having fun tearing through the roads after the ice storms we have been getting this week, hopefully the novelty wears off before it gets too expensive).

Anyway, she needs a little work to get back to full strength, and I was hoping you guys could help me figure a few things out. Just to get everyone grounded, it is a 2000 VX with ~90,000 miles on it, 3" lift, superwinch hubs on the front.

First, the front passenger CV boot is torn. I'm getting a little steering wheel shimmy and I have no idea how long it has been like that before I bought it, so I am planning on replacing the entire joint. I'm new to lifted vehicles, so I was wondering if a 3" lift necessitated a custom CV joint, or if I can just use a stock replacement. Can anyone suggest a place to get them from?

Regarding the TOD, I *think* it is working correctly, but am not entirely sure and wanted to see what you all thought. For the most part it is showing no power to the front wheels when stopped and at very slow speeds. Anything over about 5-10 mph has the first bar lit up for both wheels. Every once in a while I can get it to show all three bars on both wheel, but usually only for a split second after a sudden acceleration. I have never been able to get one front wheel to receive different power than the other, they are always the same. I also don't seem to be able to get any more power out of the front wheels once I am moving no matter what stupid things I do, and believe me I have been trying. I have been trying to slide around in the parking lot at work, driving through an icy patch on one side of the car, etc. and nothing seems to change it.