PDA

View Full Version : VX for sale, though has problems...take the chance?

MeowMix
01/16/2011, 11:16 AM
Hello! I'm a bit new to the VX world, and in fact to the world of 4WD in general (I've always been a sports car girl) and I was hoping you folks could give me a little advice on a VX I've found that I would like nothing more than to take home and love to death. I have been looking for a VX for quite some time now, and finally found one in my own city for sale by a private party. I'm pretty weary of this car though...here's the breakdown:

This VX is a 2001, proton (my favorite), with only 70K miles on it...though the car has NOT been well cared for. Little things here and there tell the tale that the owner could care less about her vehicle. It's non-smoking, but still it's so filthy inside I was almost afraid to sit in it...the cladding is very sunfaded (what product would you use to restore this, or can you?), the VX badges are peeling, there are various broken nickel and dime parts on the interior (such as the dome light cover and a small part on the door panel), there are multiple paint chips along the border of the drivers' door, where it has been opened onto something, The engine and bay are filthy, etc...it's just a bit rough cosmetically (nothing a couple cheap replacement parts, a little love and my little green machine can't fix there). It has also been in a front end collision. I noticed this as soon as I saw it, due to the difference in sunfading between the front cladding and the rest of it, which I said nothing about initially but then she brought it up herself, which I suppose is a good thing...at least she's not trying to hide anything. Apparently the radiator was replaced in the accident, and she does have the paperwork for the repairs.