PDA

View Full Version : Switching to Synthetics? msg me.

paultvx
09/14/2003, 01:47 AM
If anyone needs synthetic oil, tranny fluid, differential fluid, oil filter, and anything else for your VX and other vehicles... I can probably help you save some money on anything within AMSoil's product line. Let me know what you need and in what quantity. I'll check with my source to see what I can do on price.

AMSoil's online catalog for cars and light trucks is at http://www.amsoil.com/products/cars/index.htm

I can only do this between now and Feb. 04. After that, I won't be able to help.

Why AMSoil? I've been using it for four years and the stuff is good. I used to read the DSM and VW performance boards (I had a VW, a friend has a DSM) and two people for the boards did their own independant oil analysis with different brands of synthetic oils... Mobil, Redline, etc. AMSoil yielded the best test results in both cases.

tomdietrying
09/14/2003, 07:35 AM
I've been thinking of changing. I have a few of questions. First, with synthetic, how many miles is it recommended between changes? Second, is it o.k. to switch synthetics after you start one type? Last, what is the price with shipping to Dallas? Thanks.
Tom

kpaske
09/14/2003, 08:38 AM
I've considered switching too and wonder if there are any issues switching a VX with 70k+ miles? I've never used a synthetic. Also, can we expect a noticeable difference in the way our VX runs, or is it more a preventative medicine type of thing?

Heraclid
09/14/2003, 11:18 AM
Haven't changed anything else yet, but I just did the switch over to Mobil 1 synthetic motor oil Friday night before the beach meet yesterday, and it already does feel different and seems less coarse under acceleration.

paultvx
09/14/2003, 12:12 PM
Each manufacturer as their own recommendation for change intervals... it also depend on driving conditions.