PDA

View Full Version : Proton in "Stay With It" Engineering campaign

Baldwin
03/01/2013, 11:01 PM
I have been honored by being asked to work with the White House & Intel heading up the "Stay With It" campaign. 40% of Engineering students quit Engineering after their freshman year. Some really should have. Other's should have stuck it out. And then honestly, some that stuck with it probably should quit. But I remember when I graduated, probably only 20% or less of my original class was with me. So they asked me to speak at schools and do this video to show the college students what it's like to be a working engineer and use hip hop as a tool to remind people that engineers are supposed to be creative and fun and that being a geek these days is pretty cool. Here's the video.

http://youtu.be/T4k5eWmMvow

you know I HAD to put my VX in it. Stay tuned. New geeked out video with my Proton AGAIN releasing on Pi Day....yes, that be 3-14 for all my nerds out there.

Leon R
03/02/2013, 07:22 AM
Nice video and cause!

My school (Nirtheastern University in Boston) was even worse! Because it was a "safety school" for many kids, they had even higher amont of kids getting into engineering, who probably shouldn't have. But it was actually very tough engineering school, with heavy focus on thermodynamics, so drop out rate was over 50%! I rember being told to look around a lecture hall if about 150 students and being told that half of us will be gone by the next year! I remember thinking how that wasn't even an option for me :)

tom4bren
03/05/2013, 07:00 AM
I'll have to look at it from home (can't open link from work ... it's an engineer thing ... you understand).

I started in EE ... gradumicated in EE. Not many of my freshman class did ... I must be special.

Leon R
03/05/2013, 08:00 AM
Out of curiosity, what is the dropout rate from other majors?