PDA

View Full Version : Who wants a Tone's/Tom's "ish" hitch?

Patr1ck
02/24/2016, 02:46 PM
I am considering making hitches for us that would be a hybrid of Tom's/Tones/my own. I want to see how many of you would be interested in one. I have been welding professionally for 10 years, while not a "Welder", it was required for my job as a heavy truck mechanic on a weekly basis at the least. I would fabricate them so that they require the same rear cladding mod that the Tone's hitch requires and would be nice and hidden in the rear cladding. They would be priced in the $300 to $350 range. Let me know who would be interested in one by posting in this thread. Im trying to gage whether it would be worth it or not to start doing this.

Zierro
02/24/2016, 08:17 PM
Definitely interested. To be honest, I wouldn't buy one today. Too many things all ready planned, and my allowance is spent. Sometime in the next 6 months or so.

arcobarco
02/25/2016, 05:40 AM
I'm in need of a hitch. What would the the shipping estimate from your location to 84109 be? I haven started on this because there didn't seem to be availability, and I didn't want to have one local fabricated yet. A little more on what your configuration is would help. I had a tone hitch but it was not a desired fit for my VX.

CatFish
02/25/2016, 07:07 PM
What does it look like and how does it mount? Some of us have not see the hitch before. Do you have pictures?

Patr1ck
02/25/2016, 07:58 PM
It's going to mount to the crossmember like Tone's does and to the frame rail like Tom's does. It will also contain the mounts for the rear cladding. I haven't built one yet but if you search on the forum for both it may make things more clear. I'm just learning how to use Autocad, so when I get better at that I can create a drawing.

89Vette
02/26/2016, 11:48 AM