Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: My 4$ Windows fix :)

Wrench My 4$ Windows fix :)

I tired everything to fix my window (graphit spray's , new window seal(rubber) , grease...etc ) but my window was not able to roll up straight...So i went to the walmart and spent 4 $ for "rubber tie down strap "..
    If any of you doing this , please make sure , the rubber tie down strap is not to tight...or you will burning up the motors due to the heavy load !!!
    I had to cut the rubber strap to the right size.
    Dont ask me how i found out the right lenght.. I just did it
    My windows now working perfect ,no binding, sticking, jumping the track, tilting...ect
    So there is some picture :

Last edited by joshi : 11/02/2010 at 07:48 PM

I'm not very good at mechanics...how's the bungee cord work?

Also, the plastic square tabs holding the bottom edge of the glass don't look OEM...did you do anything there?

I'd strongly suggest you get the SBC brackets for $65 as they're strong metal. a The plastic square tabs look like they can age and snap off, like so many owners have reported. Metal is better there
    VX KAT
    ....the adventure BEGINS ANEW! ...2015......
    Remember that life is not measured in the breaths you take, but rather in the moments that take your breath away.

Probably qualifies as a cheap workaround rather than a fix, but I applaud your resourcefulness!

Sue, what I think he's getting at here is pulling the rear of the window back and down so that the front of the window lifts up easier relative to the rear. This way the front of the window binds less which is part of the cause of our window woes.

"Sue, what I think he's getting at here is pulling the rear of the window back and down so that the front of the window lifts up easier relative to the rear. This way the front of the window binds less which is part of the cause of our window woes. "

Yes Grif! You are right