Thread: thermostat replacement

thermostat replacement

Well, I'm thinking that my thermostat took a dump. And of course, the night before a long drive for a job.
    After looking tha site over, I'm finding little on the subject. So I've got some. Uestions.
    1) Is it the whole intake, or just the common chamber that needs removed?
    2) If either the intake, or common chamber are removed, do I need new gaskets?
    3) I'm a nervous mechanic, is this something that I should consider doing myself? I'm not bad at working on the truck, I just don't want to screw this up!
    4) Should I use isuzu thermo, or is a parts store ok?

Any and all help is appreciated. I saw dub said he wouldn't charge less than 300 for the labor,
    So I'm guessin, taking my time, I'm looking at 10 hrs to replace the thermostat?
    Any confidence builders reading this? Lol

Thanks!
    David

I guess I should add....
    When I'm driving, I'm running hot, past halfway on the gauge. If I stop, temp goes up uickly
    The only way of keeping needle pointing strt down is to run heat full blast, but even at idle with heat on, the needle get close to pegging it very fast.
    Not running ac either. Haven't checked fan clutch yet, but the uppuer hose is hot, and very hard with pressure,
    The passenger side hose I can at least s ueeze a little, bot doesn't seem to have fluid in it.
    The resivour is full, and when I shut off motor, a couple of air bubbles come from the hose comming from radiator to resivour.
    That's all I can think of now
    Thanks again folks!
    David.

Oh, I did forget....when I first discovered this tonight, I let the truck cool for about 10 min. Then I slowly released the radiator cap to take a look
    Inside, and there was coolant present, covering the fins, so I started the truck to see if the coolant would go down
    In the radiator so I could add more. Well after about 30 second at idle, coolant came gushing out of the filler hole, pulses of coolant!!!