Thread: CF Modification Wishlist?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

CF Modification Wishlist?

Hello all,

I'm new to the forum, but I've been drooling over the VX since it came out, and I poke around the site every now and then to stay current. I'm just waiting for the finances to fall into the right place before I can buy my own.

However, I am an industrial designer that is working with composites, particularly carbon fiber (CF), and myself and another designer are looking for areas of need/want in the tuner and off-road markets that our services might be able to benefit.

So, is there anything in/on your VX that you wish were CF? Any CF parts you already have that suck? Any ideas or gripes you have will be useful!

Thanks for your help. I'll be around!

Mark

P.S.--Also, if any of you live near Tempe, AZ and would be willing to let me take a look at your vehicle, take some photos, and get more familiar with it, that would be fantastic.

Question

How are you planning to manufacture the CF items? Pre-preg autoclave or wet layup?
    Over 20 years of Isuzu enjoyment...

Interior pieces, such as center console.

Joe,

We are using wet lay-up with vacuum-assist molding, and also vacuum-assist resin-transfer molding. An auotclave is in the works; Pre-preg is in the future as well; we are just working out some prototyping kinks with the wet stuff. We also use the Aerospace-quality clear/bluish resins and hardeners, not the yellow-ish cheap stuff.

We have two 300-series custom motorcylce fender prototypes on eBay:
    http://motors.search.ebay.com/_W0QQs...verocketcheese

BTW-- I don't mean to step on your toes here, Joe. It looks like your shop has some pretty good capacity, and I admire your passion for the VX and for quality through testing! Any tips and suggestions for a month-old composites shop will be gladly appreciated.

Thumbs up